Personal Watercraft Laws
According to Minnesota Personal Watercraft Laws:
- You Must... Wear a USCG approved life jacket.
- Travel at slow-no wake speed (5 mph or less) within 150 feet of: non-motorized boats, shore (unless launching or landing skiers directly to open water), docks, swim rafts, swimmers or any moored or anchored boat.
- Operate only from 9:30 a.m. to 1 hour before sunset.
- Use the cutoff lanyard properly.
- Obey operator age/permit laws for those younger than 18 years old.
- All personal watercraft in Minnesota are required to display a rules decal (provided at no charge by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources).
For more information, visit www.mndnr.gov/boating.